How to See Your Aura + What Colors Mean

How to Easily See Your Aura

Have you been focusing on people or objects just waiting for the swirling colors of their aura to appear before your eyes? If you’re not seeing anything, you might be wondering what you are doing wrong. Years ago, I did that too! I was intent on seeing an aura with my eyes. I would fixate my eyes on my image in the mirror and wait for my aura to appear. Occasionally, a haze would appear around my head and I would get excited, but the haze was likely from my tired eyes rather than my aura. I never had much luck until I realized:

You do not have to see auras with your physical eyes.

In fact, most people don’t. Instead, you can see auras using your psychic sense of clairvoyance (and yes, you have it! Learn more about that sense in my article here.) If you want to see your aura, try out my aura-seeing exercise below.

Aura-Seeing Exercise

Relax and sit comfortably.

Close your eyes.

Using your imagination, picture yourself in your mind.

Mentally ask yourself the question, “If I had an aura, what would it look like?”

Yes, I’m asking you to semi-imagine your aura colors. Don’t put too much thought into it, just allow your mind to generate the image of the aura surrounding you.

Mentally take note of all the colors you see.

When you are done, open your eyes and jot down the colors.


What do the colors mean?

Color meanings are subjective. They can be personal, so the meanings below might be different for you.

However, meanings are usually informed by associations. For example, we are all familiar with blue skies and tranquil blue oceans, so blue is often associated with tranquility. Red is associated with fire or blood so it can conjure feelings of passion or anger.

Color Meaning Cheat Sheet:

Red: passion, life force, anger

Orange: creativity, vibrance, joy, impulsivity

Yellow: power, happiness, intellect, anxiety

Green: healing, love, body, comparison or jealousy

Blue: tranquility, clarity, sadness

Purple: imagination, heightened psychic awareness, need to ground

White: divinity, enlightenment, peace

Black: extreme trauma, depression, needing faith

Brown: struggling, stagnancy


If the colors are murky/dark they can be interpreted as the darker meanings listed. For example, murky blue may mean sadness while a light blue could mean tranquility.

Your Aura Is Complex:

Most people have more than one color in their aura and will likely have some dark or murky spots. Just like life, our auras represent the full spectrum of our experience. We have all experienced some type of trouble in our lives, so this trauma can reflect in our aura. Healing energy work such as Reiki and acts of self-care such as doing yoga or meditating can help clear out stagnant energy.

Wishing you lots of love and light on your journey,